Skip to content

Paint Choices for my Kitchen Renovation

February 1, 2010

I have narrowed down several paint colors for my kitchen renovation.

CABINETS – Since the cabinets are metal, I will be using a Rustoleum primer in white and then Satin Slate Blue over it. This color is a mixture between a light gray and medium-toned blue.

WALLS Here I have chosen Rainwater by Behr from Home Depot. It’s a very light blue. Because the kitchen is small, I want to use a light color to help make the space look bigger. This paint will be in semi-gloss. Semi-gloss paint should be used on trim, molding, doors, window frames and cabinets in your kitchen or bathroom. It’s easy to wipe down, which is ideal for areas that see a lot of fingerprints or hits by your shoes. I decided to do the walls in this type of paint, because it’s such a confided space with no overhead oven ventilation, so the walls can get dirty easily. This way I can wipe them down more frequently without worry of the paint stripping.

CEILING AND MOLDING – I will use Antique White semi-gloss paint

SMALL ENTRY WALL – Here chalkboard paint will be used. It’s small enough to hold the paint and will not overpower the kitchen. As many notes as I make it will be ideal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 10:49 AM

    Are you doing your kitchen reno yourself? Or hiring someone? We have a kitchen/bathroom project coming up soon, and we’re looking for recommentations.

Leave a Reply

