Skip to content

Great Finds at Thrift Store and Yard Sales

July 25, 2010

“One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”  This saying is no more prevalent then going to your local thrift store, Salvation Army, Goodwill, garage or yard sale.  I tend to bypass clothing and hone in on items found in home decor, furniture, paintings and kitchen items.  What I am looking for is the design, functionality and bones (physical structure) of the item in question.  Sometimes you can get lucky and find items in mint condition.  Then sometimes all it takes is a little sanding, staining or new paint jobs to bring it back to life and a wonderful addition to your home.  My current hunt is to find antique frames and paint with black lacquer for a cluster of paintings on the wall.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 9:28 PM

    I do not know how I got your link in my email.
    I am SO glad I did.
    I will be by more often.
    those pork chops with peaches, YUM!

    • July 25, 2010 10:08 PM

      Thanks Adora,

      Glad you liked the website and let me tell you being Southern there is nothing better than peaches in the summer.

      Take Care
      Paul

  2. December 7, 2010 10:48 AM

    years ago, and I do mean YEARS ago =) my in-laws went to a yardsale and found a table. The top of it looked aweful with so many rings from where glasses had sat and scratches all over it. My in-laws used it for a little while and then asked if we would like it. At the time, we had a table that would only seat 6 and maybe 8 if we squished a couple together on each side. The thing is there was a problem, we have 7 kids and could not all sit down around the dinner table together to eat. The table my in-laws found would seat 10 with all the leaves in it. I had went and got the stripper, the stain and the protectant coating to refinish the top. My hubby redid the top of the table and we are still using that table today. We have had it now since June of 1994. The things I got to refinish the top made it so that no glass will leave a ring and no hot pan will leave any spot. The stain and things were the kind that my parents had always bought to refinish old furniture with and my table still looks pretty nice. =)

Leave a Reply

