Skip to content

GIVEAWAY – Nora Mill Products

January 9, 2011

Over the holidays I traveled to Helen, located in the North Georgia mountains.  On the outskirts of town is Nora Mill, a working mill established in 1878 and still going strong.  This  WEEK’S GIVEAWAY are three products made right at the mill;

1. Yellow Speckled Grits
2. Biscuit mix with three cutters
3. Georgia Peach Butter

My mouth is watering as I type.

Write in one of your favorite rustic/country recipes here or on Facebook and one person will be picked at random at 6pm on  Saturday,  January 15th  Valid for all United States and Canadian residents and Good Luck, Y’all!!!

WINNER LAST WEEK – Beautiful earrings from De Reloj is Jacqueline V.  Congratulations.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen A. Eiland permalink
    January 9, 2011 4:14 PM

    Yum!

  2. January 10, 2011 5:13 AM

    I love making a southern seafood gumbo and serving it with “grits” or my Mom’s Fried Chicken recipe.
    Thanks for a nice and thoughtful give-away!
    pve

  3. Lisa permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:07 AM

    One of my favorite cookbooks is by Ree Drumound, The Pioneer Woman Cooks, and she has an awesome recipe for homemade cornbread in a cast iron skillet. I love cooking with cast iron and this recipe is super easy. I pair this with homemade chili, pot roast, or any type of beef stew. Very yummy.

    Thanks for hosting this awesome giveaway!

  4. Vickie permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:38 AM

    First I want to say, I am happy Jacqueline won the earrings. Next I would like to say that my mouth is also watering. I am 49 years old and I have always ate good soul food like grits and biscuits with home made apple butter or home made jellies and jam. One of my favorite meals is breakfast food. I just love to sit down with a plate of biscuits and gravey with grits and cheese and home made something, like the jellies, jam or butter. I have never ate georgia peach butter but, I know in my heart and soul that it has got to be awesome. Georgia has some of the best peaches I have ever ate. To me they are number one in my book. I also have never used biscuit mix, I make my own. I have never bought store brand biscuit in a can. I remember in school we used canned biscuit to make doughnuts. Now the grits, oh man, I just love to make my grits and when they get done melt cheese in them. Oh man it makes my tongue slap my brains out. I know you wanted recipes but right off hand I don’t know any. I know I like to make my potpies from scratch and I use my homemade biscuits to put on top of the potpie while it is baking. Still to me there is no food better then breakfast food, it is so piping hot, the butter just melts down in those biscuits, and the grits are just to die for. I don’t know you made this hard for me, but thanks for a chance to win the giveaway and that was a thoughtful gift.

    • jacqueline v permalink
      January 13, 2011 11:33 AM

      thank you vickie! all your talk about biscuits and gravy is making me hungry!

  5. Kathy permalink
    January 10, 2011 5:28 PM

    Oh that would have to be hushpuppies

  6. Anne Taylor permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:21 PM

    My mother in law is a Georgia Peach herself…transplanted to Ontario Canada! I showed my hubby this prize and his mouth started to water lol My kids love grits, but they are so difficult to come by here on the west coast of Canada; they’d be thriled to bits to have some good grits again! The last time we had good grits and biscuits was in Shrewsbury which is an underground railroad town; ahh the culture there was fantastic!

    This is the recipe that’s been a constant in my house for years

    2 cups all-purpose flour
    2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    3/4 teaspoon salt
    5 tablespoons shortening
    3/4 cup milk

    1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F
    2. In a bowl mix the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the shortening and cut into little pieces. Add milk a little at a time and mix until it forms a ball.
    3. Roll out on floured board to desired thickness (1/2 inch or so)
    Cut out in desired size and dip in melted shortening. Place biscuits on an ungreased baking sheet.
    4. Bake at 450 degrees F for 12 to 15 minutes or until a light golden colour

    thanks

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  7. January 11, 2011 12:24 AM

    My fav right now is hot cocoa – I love to add extras into it and see how it taste!! It is a lot of fun!! So many options!!

  8. Kelly permalink
    January 11, 2011 1:31 AM

    Good ole warm potato salad!!! 😀

  9. Bessie Burnsed permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:49 AM

    These delicious jumbles would be perfect for nibbling on over the weekend.

    Butter, 1 cup; sugar, 2 cups; 2 eggs; sour or sweet milk, 1 cup; flour, 4 to 4-1/2 cups; baking soda, 1 teaspoonful, scant; cream of tarter, 2 teaspoonfuls; vanilla extract, 1 teaspoonful.

    Directions: Cream the sugar and butter, and add one-half the milk, in which the vanilla has been put; then one-half the flour, then the beaten eggs; then the other half of the flour into which the cream of tartar has been mixed by sifting together; lastly the other half of the milk in which the soda has been dissolved. Make in small cakes and bake quickly.

  10. JD Burnsed II permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:16 AM

    Molasses Cookies
    take 1/2 cup shortening, 1 cup sugar, 2 eggs beaten, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup molasses, 3 cups flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon cloves, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup raisons (seedless)

    Method: Beat shortening and sugar to a cream. Add eggs and milk, then sifted dry ingredients and the raisins, which have been dredged in some of the flour. Drop by spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet, about one inch apart. Bake in a moderately hot oven (375°F) about 18 minutes. Four dozen medium-sized cookies.

  11. Patty Mitchell permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:28 AM

    Plum Cake
    1 cup ground almonds

    2-3 tablespoons cream or milk

    1 cup self-raising flour

    1/3 cup castor sugar

    2 eggs, beaten

    4-5 plums

    Combine almonds and sugar. Stir in the cream – the mixture should be thick. Stir in the eggs, a little at a time, and finally fold in the flour.

    Spread the mixture in a well-greased pie dish. Halve the plums, removing the pips, and place the plum halves in the batter at equal distance to each other. Sprinkle with a little brown sugar. Bake in a moderate oven until nicely browned and cooked. About 25-30 minutes. Serves 4-6

  12. Shannon Baldus permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:25 PM

    Kansas Pears Honey

    9 pounds of pears

    7 pounds of sugar

    1 cup vinegar

    1 stick cinnamon, 3 inches long

    Peel, core and quarter (smaller pieces if you want) pears. Add 4 pounds of sugar and 1 cup of vinegar. Let stand overnight to draw out the juices. In the morning, drain the juice into a large kettle. Add the remaining 3 pounds of sugar and cinnamon stick, broken up. Bring to a boil and add the pears. Reduce heat and cook slowly about 2 hours or until the syrup has a light reddish (honey) color with a little bit of shine to it and pears are transparent. Pack into hot jars and seal. Process as your would for any preserves.

  13. Alyssa Shumate permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:43 PM

    Old-fashioned Molasses Candy
    Ingredients

    * 1 pint of molasses
    * 1/2 tsp. soda

    Directions

    Boil until it will become brittle in cold water. Stir in soda. Pour on buttered plates, and when cool pull until white.

  14. January 12, 2011 7:20 PM

    I love sausage gravy over homemade biscuits with a side of hash browns. It’s not just for breakfast anymore!

  15. Heather J permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:17 PM

    CHOCOLATE GRAVY
    1/2 cup white sugar
    2 spoons flour
    2 spoons unsweetened cocoa
    water to thickness

    Combine all ingredients on stove top and heat through. Serve with warm drop biscuits and sausage or bacon.

    heathersemail(at)cox(dot)net

  16. nicole copeland permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:28 PM

    My dads(yes my dads lol) apple pie

  17. January 12, 2011 9:02 PM

    BoydFamily at pobox dot com

    Easy Cobbler

    1 stick of butter
    1 c. of flour
    1 c. of sugar
    1 c. of milk
    2 c. of fruit of your choice

    Melt butter in baking dish
    Mix together flour sugar and milk and pour in baking dish
    Spoon in fruit but do not stir

    Bake at 350 degrees for about an hour.

  18. Ashley Johnson permalink
    January 12, 2011 11:28 PM

    I love your blog and this giveaway is really wonderful. I love making my homemade version of a butter braid. Using puff pastry and a homemade cheesecake filling I can whip one up in about 15 minutes but it usually only takes 5 minutes for my family to devour it.

  19. Derr permalink
    January 12, 2011 11:48 PM

    We grew up on my mom’s oatmeal pancakes, and love introducing my friends to them!

    Oatmeal Pancakes
    2cup oats
    1cup buttermilk
    2 eggs
    1/4 cup butter
    1/2 cup flour
    2tbs sugar
    1tsp powder
    1tsp soda

    cook until edges puff, serve with strawberries and maple syrup!

  20. Leah permalink
    January 13, 2011 10:40 AM

    One of my favorite “rustic” recipes is my grandma’s applesauce….so easy, but so delicious…just apples, water, sugar, but somehow when she makes it it always tastes a million times better than mine….maybe because I tend to experiment too much 🙂

  21. jacqueline v permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:35 AM

    my favorite country food is country fried chicken! I LOVE eating (cooking not so much). There’s this place in Charleston, SC (where I live) that is SPECTACULAR! The owner of the restaurant is 79 years old and she still does all the cooking herself. It’s A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    and my brother just went to Helen a few weeks ago. I had never heard of it before he mentioned it! Hope you enjoyed yourself!

  22. January 13, 2011 11:54 AM

    It’s a toss up between hushpuppies and homemade cornbread. My mother in law just gave me a cast iron skillet and I love love love the way cornbread turns out when using the skillet. Such homey goodness 🙂 yum!

    -Kendall
    kendallcrowgirl(at)gmail(d0t)com

  23. susanmeep permalink
    January 14, 2011 12:22 PM

    I love jalapeno corn bread.. it is just the usual cornbread recipe (everyone has one) and add jalapenos it really spices it up!

  24. Julie Anne McNee-Ruger permalink
    January 15, 2011 10:59 AM

    My favorite southern recipe would have to be a buttermilk peach cobbler…just typing this is making my mouth water…yummy!!!!

  25. Summer permalink
    January 15, 2011 4:11 PM

    I love making fried green tomatoes. I also like apple pie. This is making me hungry 🙂

  26. January 15, 2011 7:50 PM

    My mom’s cornbread is still my favorite…cakey and every so slightly sweet, but not very. It’s perfect topped with butter and honey and served with chili!

Leave a Reply

